A Simple Meditation Tip…

Chakras Mindfulness Meditation

It’s a core principle of the whole Arrow In Flight mindset that a metaphysical practice can lead to much greater overall wellness.

There can be various component parts that make up such a metaphysical practice…but a great one to include in the toolbox is meditation. It’s a simple practice in many ways, it’s not demanding, and it often requires no extra gear at all: you just need you, the world, and the awareness that the former fits uniquely into the latter.

A huge part of meditating is the relaxation aspect of it. I always hesitate to tell people that they’re doing things wrong…but if meditation is stressing you out, then you might be doing it wrong.

So here’s a relaxation technique…

Check out the image above. It shows the chakra system. For those unfamiliar with this concept, “chakra” is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel.”  For centuries, millions of people have believed that we humans possess a string of major energy centers running vertically along our spinal columns. These same people also believe that energy flows along this string, and that the functioning of our chakra system is inextricably connected to our health and wellness. Chakras can become blocked, or over- or under-stimulated, leading to dysfunction. They can also be optimized – brought back to more favorable states – which boosts wellness.

There are seven major chakras, and it’s probably no coincidence that they’re correlated with the exact same colors that make up a rainbow. From bottom to top, the chakra system – like the rainbow – conforms to the mnemonic of ROY G. BIV. Check out that image above again, and notice that the seven “wheels” running up that central figure’s spine go in this order:



Crown Chakra


Third Eye Chakra


Throat Chakra


Heart Chakra


Solar Plexus Chakra


Sacral Chakra


Root Chakra


And look at the first letter of each color that corresponds to a chakra: from top to bottom, those letters spell out the odd “name” of ROY G. BIV.

If you study the chakra system further, you’ll discover that each chakra has its own “personality,” its own specific function, and themes, and concepts…and health-wise, each one has its own gifts, and also its own associated ailments that come along with instances of dysfunction.

For now, though, you don’t need to commit all that material to memory in order to get some positive use out of the chakra system…

For meditation purposes, find yourself a quiet space in which you can sit undisturbed for a stretch of time. Sit quietly with your eyes closed, breathing in a way that feels very comfortable and natural.

As you settle in, focus on one chakra at a time, starting with the Root Chakra, which is the red one at the bottom of the system. The Root Chakra is centered in and among what our society refers to as our “private parts.” You don’t need to do anything special, or try to make anything happen – just try to picture a glowing ball of red light floating gently at the core of the junction where your torso meets your legs. It might rotate or pulse or glow a bit brighter in your imagination as you contemplate it…or it might not do much of anything at all.

It’s important to remember in this process that working your way mentally up the seven chakras at a steady, measured pace is the payoff. Nothing else needs to happen…but if something else does occur, then you can consider that something else to be some cool icing on the meditative cake…

After you’ve spent a minute or two holding that red Root Chakra in your mind’s eye, move on upward to the Sacral Chakra, which is the orange one. It’s centered inside your lower torso, slightly below and behind your bellybutton. Same thing here: picture the ball of light, connect with it in your imagination, be aware of that part of your physical body…and breathe…

Then work your way comfortably up the rest of them. The yellow Solar Plexus chakra is above and behind your navel. The green Heart Chakra is in the very center of your chest. Your blue Throat Chakra is at the core of your throat. The indigo-colored Third Eye Chakra floats behind your forehead. And the violet Crown Chakra is at the top of your skull – for me, it feels like its lower half is inside my head, and the upper half pokes out up above into the world, like a purple Sun rising up over some horizon…but your take on it might vary a bit from that, and that’s completely okay.

But the point of all this is that a) you’ll become better acquainted with the chakra system, which might turn out to be a fabulous and profound system for you to work with, and b) simply working your way up through the chakras at a nice, easy pace in this way should sort of “trick” you into spending some time in a beneficial meditative state. You should find after trying this exercise that you’ve passed at least 5-15 minutes engaged in your practice, and there’s also a great chance that focusing on the chakras will give your mind enough to chew on that a slew of other unhelpful anxieties will be short-circuited. That is, this trip through the chakras can help you to sidestep your own chattering mind.

You probably won’t achieve enlightenment or inner peace in one fell swoop with this or any other undertaking…but this exercise will hopefully turn out to be a really effective technique with which you can make slow but definite incremental progress toward that enlightenment and that inner peace…


Leave a Reply